Toodles, poodles

July 15, 2009

It’s so unfair that I have to leave both NY and the US at the same time.

These cute things help hold the Hilton steady

These cute things help hold the Hilton steady

When I first started the blog, I mostly saw it as a way to keep people informed of where I was and what I was doing. I thought I’d update it every few days with an ‘I’m at -foo- doing -bar-‘ and not much else, since the few travel blogs I’ve looked at are much the same: here I am at A, met person B, look at panoramic vista photo C. It turned out for me that the blog was a way to distill the stuff that happened during the day, in effect, to help me memorise it, to remember the stuff that happened earlier in the day. It hasn’t worked perfectly, but there was so much happening on most days that sitting down and thinking about it really helped. And like I said earlier, for every thing in the blog there’s two or three that I encounter during the day. At least.

Spraypaint artist. Big on the west coast, not so common on the east

Spraypaint artist. Big on the west coast, not so common on the east

The other big advantage for me was having various people suggest random cool things to do, which is a decent feat given the breadth of the travels.

Anyway, I’ve got to get out of the room as sign-out is approaching. I’ve repacked everything and have a couple of hours walking around time before heading off to JFK.

Think I might get me some Korean dumplings…

Leave a Reply

